Dec 10, 2010 Cancer Cured with Laughter and Meditation!

This is a joyous and inspiring article from Nita Ng, who lead the Queenswood Laughter Yoga club while she lived here in Victoria. This experience jumped out at me from her article:

“…meditating 20 minutes daily and laughs alone, out-loud 10 minutes daily.

With this practise, he gradually healed himself of cancer.  His doctor who was monitoring the cancer cells was amazed but when he saw how the cancer had shrunk after three months, he did not put Des under any therapy and asked him to continue what he was doing and come back in another three months for further monitoring.”

Read on -Matti

^^^^^^^^^^^^

Dear fellow laugh-fers…hahaha

I just wanted to share some wonderful experiences and blessings I’ve received when I connected with Laughter groups in my travels
I lead retreats and workshops (art and yoga) in different countries and everywhere I go, I find laughter groups and make new friends…hoho hahah Hurray!!!
I would like to also share this with the rest of the LY community around the world, in gratitude for LY and all the wonderful people I met through our Laughter Yoga exchange
Thank you, have a wonderful day and blessings
Namaste
Nita

I feel Gratitude for Abundance in my life daily!

Laughter Yoga Exchanges and Soul Connections!

Every time I travel abroad, I would find and connect with various yoga groups, including laughter groups so that I could share and exchange what I love with others.

Melbourne, Australia

In Melbourne the results were truly bountiful!  Three laughter groups invited me to join them.  However, due to time constraints and distance, I could only meet up with just one group.  So I accepted Carolyn’s invite.  This woman is a beautiful soul who is full of wisdom and light.

Carolyn was away the first few days of my visit and so Des, her husband came to pick me up from where I was staying and brought me to the park where their laughter group gathers.

We had a blast!!!  Lots of laughter and silliness and capped off with lovely coffee.  I love it!  We all shared stories over coffee and i was particularly moved by Des’.

Des has had cancer three times in his life.  Carolyn believed that this may be cause by the large quantities of pesticide air-spread (by plane) over large areas of farming land in the countryside where they used to live.

The first two times he was diagnosed with cancer, Des underwent the usual medical treatments including chemotherapy and was declared cancer-free after each time.

When the cancer came back a third time, by then he had been “converted” by Carolyn and had started meditating 20 minutes daily and laughs alone, out-loud 10 minutes daily.

With this practise, he gradually healed himself of cancer.  His doctor who was monitoring the cancer cells was amazed but when he saw how the cancer had shrunk after three months, he did not put Des under any therapy and asked him to continue what he was doing and come back in another three months for further monitoring.

Soon the cancer completely disappeared from Des’ body.  Of course, through it all, he also maintained a healthy diet.  He now promotes the benefit of laughter yoga and continues his daily practise.

I am touched and so grateful that he shared this story with me the first day we met.  Opening up his most private moments with a “stranger”.  I now share his story with every laughter group I meet because I believe that the more we share our stories the more healing take place.

When Carolyn came back to Melbourne we met a couple times more.  Meeting her was like meeting a long-lost soul sister.  We connected immediately!  We had so much to share and talk about, and she shared many words of her wisdom with me.  We were also passionate about many similar interests, including Body Balance, Reiki and alternative methods of healing.

I have come to treasure both Carolyn and Des’ friendship the short time I was there and continue to count them as friends today, special soul friends.

Port Alberni, Vancouver Island, Canada

I was invited to spend a weekend in beautiful Port Alberni, which is located on the Western tip of Canada, where across the ocean, we will find Japan.  The locals loved to say how we could pass messages in bottles with friends in Japan through the ocean, and the waves and currents will carry our messages from shore to shore.

That weekend we (five women) each brought a gift to share.  Mona shared her beautiful home with us, and made us feel so at home, especially in her lovely hot-tub!  She also gave me the gift of a hypnotherapy session.  Beautiful Penny and Maryam shared their love for creating nutritious and super yummy food with us.  Sharon brought drums!!!  Yes, drums in the plural and from various cultures—African, Middle-eastern, South American, hippie…whatever!  And I brought laughter yoga and my batik paintings.

We ate, drummed, danced, talked (and talked and talked), soaked in the hot-tub and laughed through it all!   Throughout that weekend, five women we didn’t know each other all that well bonded as sisters.  In fact, we called ourselves the Bamboo Sisters (and there’s a whole story behind that name…hahahaha!)

Laughter Yoga and Retreat Ministry

When I first arrived to work at Queenswood, a retreat centre in Victoria, British Columbia, Canada I was eager to share the joys of Laughter Yoga with everyone.

I guess, my sub-conscious expectation was that people would come together regularly and laugh together.  Some people came but not many regulars and soon I began to understand the dynamics of a retreat centre better and saw how even though many people come through the doors of the centre but most are not regulars.  They come here to reconnect with themselves and others at a soul level, through personal retreats, group retreats and workshops.

The gift I received was the joy of being able to share with many people who have never heard of or done laughter yoga before.  I came to understand that in the retreat ministry, I am a sower of seeds.  I share my experiences with others, we all LAUGH together and I may never see some of them again.

But the connection was made and we have exchanged gifts of laughter, experience and growth.

Personally, I learnt to let go and surrender.  I sow the seeds everywhere I go, then trust that those seeds will take root and grow in their own unique divine timing.

I let go of results and trust that each person will leave the retreat centre with what they need in their own spiritual journey.

***

And so, as I continue to travel from one place to another, especially to places around the world where I’ve been invited to lead yoga and art retreats and workshops, I share laughter and stories—essentials, I believe, in spreading joy and healing everywhere.

In ancient times, itinerant gurus move from place to place to teach humanity, I can’t call myself a guru but it would be an honour and gift to be able to go from place to place to share joy, peace and healing.

Namaste!

Nita

About Victoria Laughter Yoga Club

Victoria Laughter Yoga Club is affiliated with Dr. Madan Kataria's School of Laughter Yoga. We laugh: Just ‘cause: ☺It feels good ☺Fights cancer* ☺Conquers stress ☺Improves circulation ☺Smooths out wrinkles ☺Is efficient exercise** ☺Slows the aging process ☺Boosts immunity(fight colds) ☺Oxygen to brain=clear thinking * Dr. Otto Warburg, President, Institute of Cell Physiology, Nobel Prize Winner (twice) says: “Deep breathing techniques increase oxygen to the cells and are the most important factors in living a disease-free and energetic life. When cells get enough oxygen, cancer will not and cannot occur.” (My bolding) **Dr. W. Fry states that 10 minutes of hearty laughter is equal to 30 minutes or rowing or jogging.(Journal of General Psychology, 1938) Laughter Yoga goes beyond just laughter. Founder Dr. Madan Kataria has developed techniques to stimulate childlike playfulness, to adjust the aerobic and stretching component, and to promote emotional flow and release. Laughter Yoga can improve your physical health, release negative thoughts and emotions and get in touch with your spiritual nature. It helps us to develop an attitude of forgiveness, generosity, compassion and helpfulness while actively seeking the happiness of others. Combined, these principles can provide a powerful life-changing experience that we call the inner spirit of laughter. Laughter Yoga Clubs are non-political, non-religious, non-profit. There are a number of clubs in the Victoria area. Email for more info and current schedule:
This entry was posted in Laughter Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

